Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Playoff Droughts as of 2016 NBA & Stanley Cup Finals

This will be the 1st time I'm doing this while including MLS, the WNBA and the CFL.

Chronologically by end of their regular season: NFL in December, CFL in November, MLS in November, MLB in September, WNBA in September, NBA in June, NHL in June.

Last qualified for their league's Playoffs in calendar year 2016: Atlanta Hawks, Boston Celtics, Charlotte Hornets, Cleveland Cavaliers, Dallas Mavericks, Detroit Pistons, Golden State Warriors, Houston Rockets, Indiana Pacers, Los Angeles Clippers, Memphis Grizzlies, Miami Heat, Oklahoma City Thunder, Portland Trail Blaers, San Antonio Spurs, Toronto Raptors; Anaheim Ducks, Chicago Blackhawks, Dallas Stars, Detroit Red Wings, Florida Panthers, Los Angeles Kings, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Preadtors, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins, San Jose Sharks, St. Louis Blues, Tampa Bay Lightning, Washington Capitals.

2015: Carolina Panthers, Cincinnati Bengals, Denver Broncos, Green Bay Packers, Houston Texans, Kansas City Chiefs, Minnesota Vikings, New England Patriots, Pittsburgh Steelers, Seattle Seahawks, Washington Redskins; Edmonton Eskimos, Ottawa Redblacks, Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Calgary Stampeders, Toronto Argonauts, British Columbia Lions; Columbus Crew, D.C. United, FC Dallas, Los Angeles Galaxy, Montreal Impact, New England Revolution, New York Red Bulls, Portland Timbers, Seattle Sounders, Sporting Kansas City, Toronto FC, Vancouver Whitecaps; Chicago Cubs, Houston Astros, Kansas City Royals, Los Angeles Dodgers, New York Mets, New York Yankees, Pittsburgh Pirates, St. Louis Cardinals, Texas Rangers, Toronto Blue Jays; Chicago Sky, Dallas Wings (as Tulsa Shock), Indiana Fever, Los Angeles Sparks, Minnesota Lynx, New York Liberty, Phoenix Mercury, Washington Mystics; Brooklyn Nets, Chicago Bulls, Milwaukee Bucks, New Orleans Pelicans, Washington Wizards; Calgary Flames, Montreal Canadiens, Ottawa Senators, Vancouver Canucks, Winnipeg Jets.

Began play in 2015 but have never made the Playoffs: New York City FC, Orlando City.

2014: Arizona Cardinals, Baltimore Ravens, Dallas Cowboys, Detroit Lions, Indianapolis Colts; Montreal Alouettes, Saskatchewan Roughriders; Real Salt Lake; Baltimore Orioles, Detroit Tigers, San Francisco Giants, Washington Nationals; Atlanta Dream, San Antonio Stars; Boston Bruins, Colorado Avalanche, Columbus Blue Jackets.

2013: New Orleans Saints, Philadelphia Eagles, San Diego Chargers, San Francisco 49ers; Colorado Rapids, Houston Dynamo; Atlanta Braves, Boston Red Sox, Cincinnati Reds, Cleveland Indians, Oakland Athletics, Tampa Bay Rays; Denver Nuggets, Los Angeles Lakers, New York Knicks; Toronto Maple Leafs.

2012: Atlanta Falcons; Chicago Fire, San Jose Earthquakes; Connecticut Sun; Orlando Magic, Philadelphia 76ers, Utah Jazz; Arizona Coyotes, New Jersey Devils.

2011: New York Giants; Philadelphia Union; Arizona Diamondbacks, Milwaukee Brewers, Minnesota Twins, Philadelphia Phillies; Winnipeg Blue Bombers; Buffalo Sabres.

2010: Chicago Bears, New York Jets; Minnesota Twins; Seattle Storm; Phoenix Suns.

2009: Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, Colorado Rockies; Carolina Hurricanes.

2008: Miami Dolphins, Tennessee Titans; Chicago White Sox.

2007: Jacksonville Jaguars, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; San Diego Padres.

2006: Sacramento Kings; Edmonton Oilers.

2004: Los Angeles Rams (as St. Louis Rams, last did so in Los Angeles in 1989), Minnesota Timberwolves.

2003: Miami Marlins (as Florida Marlins).

2002: Cleveland Browns, Oakland Raiders.

2001: Seattle Mariners.

1999: Buffalo Bills. Although the Bills played a Playoff game in January 2000 (losing to the Tennessee Titans in "the Music City Miracle"), they are the only team not to have qualified for the Playoffs in the 20th Century.


2016 Islanders
2016 Rangers
2015 Red Bulls
2015 Mets
2015 Yankees
2015 Liberty
2015 Nets
2013 Knicks
2012 Devils
2011 Giants
2010 Jets

No comments: