Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Last Four Droughts as of 2016 NBA & Stanley Cup Playoffs

The last four teams standing in a sports aren't called "the Final Four" except in college basketball. Nevertheless, being one of the last 4 teams standing in your league is a pretty good accomplishment. For some teams, it's as far as they've ever gotten -- or, in the case of the Jets, as far as they've gotten in my lifetime.

Last reached their sport's last 4 in calendar year 2016: Cleveland Cavaliers, Golden Sate Warriors, Oklahoma City Thunder, Toronto Raptors; Pittsburgh Penguins, St. Louis Blues, San Jose Sharks, Tampa Bay Lightning; Arizona Cardinals, Carolina Panthers, Denver Broncos, New England Patriots.

2015: Calgary Stampeders, Edmonton Eskimos, Hamilton Tiger-Cats, Ottawa Redblacks; Columbus Crew, FC Dallas, New York Red Bulls, Portland Timbers; Chicago Cubs, Kansas City Royals, New York Mets, Toronto Blue Jays; Indiana Fever, Minnesota Lynx, New York Liberty, Phoenix Mercury; Atlanta Hawks, Houston Rockets; Anaheim Ducks, Chicago Blackhawks, New York Rangers; Green Bay Packers, Indianapolis Colts, Seattle Seahawks.

2014: Montreal Alouettes; Los Angeles Galaxy, New England Revolution, Seattle Sounders; Baltimore Orioles, St. Louis Cardinals, San Francisco Giants; Chicago Sky; Indiana Pacers, Miami Heat, San Antonio Spurs; Los Angeles Kings, Montreal Canadiens; San Francisco 49ers.

2013: Saskatchewan Roughriders; Houston Dynamo, Real Salt Lake, Sporting Kansas City; Boston Red Sox, Detroit Tigers, Los Angeles Dodgers; Atlanta Dream; Boston Bruins; Atlanta Falcons, Baltimore Ravens.

2012: Toronto Argonauts; D.C. United; New York Yankees; Connecticut Sun, Los Angeles Sparks; Boston Celtics; Arizona Coyotes (as Phoenix Coyotes), New Jersey Devils; New York Giants.

2011: British Columbia Lions, Winnipeg Blue Bombers; Milwaukee Brewers, Texas Rangers; Chicago Bulls, Dallas Mavericks; Vancouver Canucks; Chicago Bears, New York Jets, Pittsburgh Steelers.

2010: Colorado Rapids, San Jose Earthquakes; Philadelphia Phillies, Tampa Bay Rays; Seattle Storm; Los Angeles Lakers, Orlando Magic, Phoenix Suns; Philadelphia Flyers; Minnesota Vikings, New Orleans Saints.

2009: Chicago Fire; Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim; Dallas Wings (as Detroit Shock); Denver Nuggets; Carolina Hurricanes, Detroit Red Wings; Philadelphia Eagles.

2008: San Antonio Stars (as San Antonio Silver Stars); Detroit Pistons; Dallas Stars; San Diego Chargers.

2007: Cleveland Indians, Colorado Rockies; Utah Jazz; Buffalo Sabres, Edmonton Oilers.

2006: Oakland Athletics; Edmonton Oilers.

2005: Chicago White Sox, Houston Astros.

2004: Minnesota Timberwolves; Calgary Flames.

2003: Miami Marlins (as Florida Marlins) Brooklyn Nets (as New Jersey Nets); Minnesota Wild; Oakland Raiders, Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Tennessee Titans.

2002: Minnesota Twins; Washington Mystics; Sacramento Kings; Colorado Avalanche; Los Angeles Rams (as St. Louis Rams).

2001: Arizona Diamondbacks, Atlanta Braves, Seattle Mariners; Milwaukee Bucks, Philadelphia 76ers;

2000: New York Knicks, Portland Trail Blazers; Toronto Maple Leafs; Jacksonville Jaguars.

1998: San Diego Padres; Washington Capitals.

1996: Florida Panthers; Dallas Cowboys.

1995: Cincinnati Reds.

1994: Buffalo Bills, Kansas City Chiefs.

1993: New York Islanders; Miami Dolphins.

1992: Detroit Lions, Washington Redskins.

1990: Cleveland Browns.

1989: Cincinnati Bengals.

1981: Washington Nationals (as Montreal Expos); Vancouver Whitecaps (original version).

1979: Pittsburgh Pirates; Washington Wizards (as Washington Bullets); Winnipeg Jets.

Never reached last 4: Montreal Impact, New York City FC, Orlando City, Philadelphia Union, Toronto FC; Charlotte Hornets, Los Angeles Clippers, Memphis Grizzlies, New Orleans Pelicans; Columbus Blue Jackets, Nashville Predators; Houston Texans.


2015 Red Bulls
2015 Mets
2015 Liberty
2015 Rangers
2012 Yankees
2012 Devils
2012 Giants
2011 Jets
2003 Nets
2000 Knicks
1993 Islanders

No comments: