Saturday, February 4, 2017

Living Members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, as of February 4, 2017

All 8 of the new electees to the Pro Football Hall of Fame are still alive: Kenny Easley, Morten Andersen, Terrell Davis, Tony Boselli, Jason Taylor, Kurt Warner, LaDainian Tomlinson and Jerry Jones.

Here are the living HOFers, by team. Inductees are listed here with a team if they played, or coached, or were an executive, with them for at least 4 seasons. I have divided moved teams accordingly.

Tenure as a player, or a coach, or an executive is only counted if they were elected as such. 

Ties in the rankings are broken by more players, as opposed to other categories; and then by time in the league. So a team with 4 players is ahead of one with 3 players and 1 coach, and a team with 3 players in 50 years is ahead of one with 3 players in 80 years.

Figures are listed here as follows: Players in chronological order of their Hall of Fame service with the team (even if they had other functions with that team), then coaches, then executives, then broadcasters.

1. Oakland Raiders, 15: Jim Otto, Fred Biletnikoff, Willie Brown, Art Shell, Dave Casper, Ray Guy, Ted Hendricks, Mike Haynes, Howie Long, Marcus Allen, Jerry Rice, Warren Sapp, Tim Brown, John Madden (coach), Ron Wolf (scout).

2. Dallas Cowboys, 15: Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Rayfield Wright, Mike Ditka, Roger Staubach, Randy White, Tony Dorsett, Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, Michael Irvin, Deion Sanders, Larry Allen, Charles Haley, Bill Parcells (coach), Jerry Jones (owner).

3. Washington Redskins, 13: Bobby Mitchell, Sonny Jurgensen, Charley Taylor, Sam Huff, Paul Krause, Chris Hanburger, Ken Houston, John Riggins, Art Monk, Russ Grimm, Darrell Green, Bruce Smith (last 4 years of his career as a Redskin), Joe Gibbs (coach).

4. Minnesota Vikings, 12: Fran Tarkenton, Carl Eller, Alan Page, Paul Krause, Ron Yary, Mick Tinglehoff, Chris Doleman, Gary Zimmerman, Randall McDaniel, Cris Carter, John Randle, Bud Grant (coach).

5. Pittsburgh Steelers, 12: Joe Greene, Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris, Jack Lambert, Jack Ham, Lynn Swann, John Stallworth, Mel Blount, Rod Woodson, Dermontti Dawson, Jerome Bettis, Dan Rooney (owner).

6. Green Bay Packers, 12: Bart Starr, Forrest Gregg, Paul Hornung, Jim Taylor, Willie Davis, Willie Wood, Herb Adderley, Dave Robinson, James Lofton, Jan Stenerud, Brett Favre, Ron Wolf (executive).

7. San Francisco 49ers, 11: Y.A. Tittle, Hugh McElhenny, Dave Wilcox, Jimmy Johnson, Joe Montana, Fred Dean, Ronnie Lott, Jerry Rice, Steve Young, Charles Haley, Eddie DeBartolo (owner).

8. Miami Dolphins, 10: Larry Csonka, Nick Buoniconti, Bob Griese, Jim Langer, Larry Little, Paul Warfield, Dan Marino, Dwight Stephenson, Jason Taylor and Don Shula (coach).

9. Kansas City Chiefs, 10: Bobby Bell, Len Dawson, Willie Lanier, Emmitt Thomas, Curley Culp, Jan Stenerud, Marcus Allen, Willie Roaf, Will Shields, Mary Levy (coach).

10. Buffalo Bills, 10: Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson, Joe DeLamiellure, James Lofton, Jim Kelly, Bruce Smith, Thurman Thomas, Andre Reed, Marv Levy (coach), Bill Polian (executive).

Houston Oilers, 9: Curley Culp, Elvin Bethea, Earl Campbell, Dave Casper, Ken Houston, Charlie Joiner, Warren Moon, Mike Munchak, Bruce Matthews.

11. Chicago Bears, 7: Mike Ditka, Dick Butkus, Gale Sayers, Alan Page, Richard Dent, Dan Hampton, Mike Singletary.

San Diego Chargers, 7: Ron Mix, Lance Alworth, Fred Dean, Dan Fouts, Charlie Joiner, Kellen Winslow, La Dainian Tomlinson.

12. New York Giants, 7: Sam Huff, Y.A. Tittle, Fran Tarkenton, Harry Carson, Lawrence Taylor, Michael Strahan, Bill Parcells (coach).

13. New England Patriots, 7: Nick Buoniconti, John Hannah, Mike Haynes, Andre Tippett, Curtis Martin, Bill Parcells (coach) and Don Criqui (broadcaster).

14. Denver Broncos, 6: Willie Brown, Floyd Little, John Elway, Shannon Sharpe, Gary Zimmerman, Terrell Davis.

15. Cleveland Browns, 6: Jim Brown, Bobby Mitchell, Leroy Kelly, Paul Warfield, Joe DeLamiellure and Ozzie Newsome.

16. Los Angeles Rams, 6: Tom Mack, Jackie Slater, Jack Youngblood, Eric Dickerson, Kevin Greene, Dick Enberg (broadcaster).

17. New York Jets, 6: Don Maynard, Joe Namath, John Riggins, Curtis Martin, Bill Parcells (coach-executive), Ron Wolf (executive).

Baltimore Colts, 5: Raymond Berry, Gino Marchetti, Lenny Moore, Ted Hendricks, Don Shula (coach).

18. Indianapolis Colts, 5: Eric Dickerson, Marshall Faulk, Marvin Harrison, Tony Dungy (coach), Bill Polian (executive).

19. Seattle Seahawks, 4: Steve Largent, Kenny Easley, Cortez Kennedy, Walter Jones.

20. Detroit Lions, 4: Joe Schmidt, Lem Barney, Dick LeBeau, Barry Sanders.

St. Louis Rams, 4: Orlando Pace, Kurt Warner, Marshall Faulk, Aeneas Williams. 

St. Louis Cardinals, 4: Larry Wilson, Dan Dierdorf, Jackie Smith, Roger Wehrli.

21. Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 4: Warren Sapp, Derrick Brooks, Tony Dungy (coach), Ron Wolf (executive).

22. Cincinnati Bengals, 3: Charlie Joiner, Anthony Munoz.

23. New Orleans Saints, 3: Rickey Jackson, Morten Andersen, Willie Roaf.

24. Atlanta Falcons, 3: Deion Sanders, Claude Humphrey, Morten Andersen.

25. Philadelphia Eagles, 3: Sonny Jurgensen, Tommy McDonald, Bob Brown.

26. Baltimore Ravens, 3: Rod Woodson, Jonathan Ogden, Ozzie Newsome (executive).

27. Arizona Cardinals, 2: Aeneas Williams, Kurt Warner.

28. Tennessee Titans, 1: Bruce Matthews.

29. Jacksonville Jaguars, 1: Tony Boselli.

30. Carolina Panthers, 1: Bill Polian (executive). 

Chicago Cardinals, 1: Charley Trippi.

31. Houston Texans, none. 

32. Los Angeles Chargers, none.

No comments: