Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Living Members of the Baseball Hall of Fame as of January 24, 2017

With the new elections, and the deaths of some, it is time to update this list.

A player is counted as a Hall-of-Famer with the team if he played at least 4 seasons with them. Teams are ranked in order of most HOFers.

1. St. Louis Cardinals, 9: Red Schoendienst (elected as player, also managed them to a title), Bob Gibson, Lou Brock, Orlando Cepeda, Steve Carlton (7 seasons), Bruce Sutter, Ozzie Smith, Whitey Herzog (manager-executive), Tony LaRussa (manager). Joe Garagiola last year.

2. Baltimore Orioles, 8: Brooks Robinson, Luis Aparicio, Frank Robinson, Jim Palmer, Eddie Murray, Cal Ripken, Roberto Alomar, Jon Miller (broadcaster).

3. Cincinnati Reds, 8: Frank Robinson, Johnny Bench, Tony Perez, Joe Morgan, Tom Seaver (6 seasons with Reds), Barry Larkin, Ken Griffey Jr., Marty Brennaman (broadcaster).

4. New York Yankees, 8: Whitey Ford, Reggie Jackson, Rich "Goose" Gossage, Dave Winfield, Rickey Henderson, Wade Boggs, Joe Torre (manager) and Tony Kubek (broadcaster). Again, Garagiola died last year.

5. Atlanta Braves, 8: Hank Aaron, Phil Niekro, Tom Glavine, Greg Maddux, John Smoltz, Bobby Cox (manager), Joe Torre (managed them in between Cox's 2 tenures there, also a player), John Schuerholz (executive).

6. Boston Red Sox, 7: Bobby Doerr, Carl Yastrzemski, Carlton Fisk, Jim Rice, Dennis Eckersley, Wade Boggs, Pedro Martinez.

7. Chicago Cubs, 6: Billy Williams, Ferguson Jenkins, Bruce Sutter, Ryne Sandberg, Andre Dawson, Greg Maddux.

8. New York Mets, 6: Tom Seaver, Mike Piazza, Tom Glavine (5 seasons), Pedro Martinez (4 seasons), Joe Torre (manager), Tim McCarver (broadcaster).

9. San Francisco Giants, 6: Willie Mays, Orlando Cepeda, Willie McCovey, Juan Marichal, Gaylord Perry, Jon Miller (broadcaster).

10. Chicago White Sox, 6: Luis Aparicio, Goose Gossage (5 years with them), Carlton Fisk, Frank Thomas, Tim Raines, Tony LaRussa (manager).

11. Los Angeles Dodgers, 6: Sandy Koufax, Don Sutton, Mike Piazza, Tommy Lasorda (manager), Vin Scully (broadcaster), Jamie Jarrin (broadcaster).

12. Oakland Athletics, 5: Reggie Jackson, Rollie Fingers, Rickey Henderson, Dennis Eckersley, Tony LaRussa (manager).

13. Texas Rangers, 5: Ferguson Jenkins, Gaylord Perry, Nolan Ryan, Ivan Rodriguez, Eric Nadel (broadcaster).

14. San Diego Padres, 5: Dave Winfield, Ozzie Smith, Rollie Fingers, Goose Gossage, Dick Enberg (broadcaster).

15. Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, 5: Nolan Ryan, Rod Carew, Reggie Jackson, Bert Blyleven, Dick Enberg (broadcaster).

16. Milwaukee Brewers, 5: Robin Yount, Paul Molitor, Rollie Fingers, Bud Selig (owner), Bob Uecker (broadcaster).

17. Houston Astros, 4: Joe Morgan, Nolan Ryan, Craig Biggio, Jeff Bagwell.

18. Philadelphia Phillies, 4: Jim Bunning, Steve Carlton, Mike Schmidt, Pat Gillick (executive).

Montreal Expos, 4: Andre Dawson, Tim Raines, Pedro Martinez, Dave Van Horne (broadcaster).

19. Kansas City Royals, 4: George Brett, Whitey Herzog (manager), John Schuerholz (executive), Denny Matthews (broadcaster).

20. Detroit Tigers, 3: Al Kaline, Jim Bunning, Ivan Rodriguez.

21. Seattle Mariners, 3: Randy Johnson, Ken Griffey Jr., Pat Gillick (executive).

22. Toronto Blue Jays, 3: Roberto Alomar, Pat Gillick (executive), Tony Kubek (broadcaster).

Milwaukee Braves, 2: Hank Aaron, Red Schoendienst.

23. Minnesota Twins, 2: Rod Carew, Bert Blyleven.

24. Pittsburgh Pirates, 2: Bill Mazeroski, Bert Blyleven.

25. Miami Marlins, 2: Felo Ramirez and Dave Van Horne (both broadcasters).

26. Cleveland Indians, 1: Gaylord Perry. 116 seasons, 1 living HOFer. Jim Thome will be eligible next year.

New York Giants, 1: Willie Mays.

Brooklyn Dodgers, 1: Vin Scully (broadcaster).

Washington Senators, 1: Bob Wolff (broadcaster). 

27. Arizona Diamondbacks, 1: Randy Johnson.

28. Washington Nationals, 1: Frank Robinson (manager).

29. Tampa Bay Rays, none.

30. Colorado Rockies, none.

No comments: