Sunday, February 7, 2016

Living Members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, as of February 6, 2016

Of the 8 new electees to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, 6 are still alive: Kevin Greene, Brett Favre, Orlando Pace, Tony Dungy, Marvin Harrison and Eddie DeBartolo.

Here are the living HOFers, by team. Inductees are listed here with a team if they played, or coached, or were an executive, with them for at least 4 seasons. I have divided moved teams accordingly.
Tenure as a player, or a coach, or an executive is only counted if they were elected as such. 

Ties in the rankings are broken by more players, as opposed to other categories; and then by time in the league. So a team with 4 players is ahead of one with 3 players and 1 coach, and a team with 3 players in 50 years is ahead of one with 3 players in 80 years.

Figures are listed here as follows: Players in chronological order of their Hall of Fame service with the team (even if they had other functions with that team), then coaches, then executives, then broadcasters.

1. Oakland Raiders, 15: Jim Otto, Fred Biletnikoff, Willie Brown, Art Shell, Dave Casper, Ray Guy, Ted Hendricks, Mike Haynes, Howie Long, Marcus Allen, Jerry Rice, Warren Sapp, Tim Brown, John Madden (coach), Ron Wolf (scout).

2. Dallas Cowboys, 14: Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Rayfield Wright, Mike Ditka, Roger Staubach, Randy White, Tony Dorsett, Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, Michael Irvin, Deion Sanders, Larry Allen, Charles Haley, Bill Parcells (coach).

3. Washington Redskins, 13: Bobby Mitchell, Sonny Jurgensen, Charley Taylor, Sam Huff, Paul Krause, Chris Hanburger, Ken Houston, John Riggins, Art Monk, Russ Grimm, Darrell Green, Bruce Smith (last 4 years of his career as a Redskin), Joe Gibbs (coach).

4. Minnesota Vikings, 12: Fran Tarkenton, Carl Eller, Alan Page, Paul Krause, Ron Yary, Mick Tinglehoff, Chris Doleman, Gary Zimmerman, Randall McDaniel, Cris Carter, John Randle, Bud Grant (coach).

5. Pittsburgh Steelers, 12: Joe Greene, Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris, Jack Lambert, Jack Ham, Lynn Swann, John Stallworth, Mel Blount, Rod Woodson, Dermontti Dawson, Jerome Bettis, Dan Rooney (owner).

6. Green Bay Packers, 12: Bart Starr, Forrest Gregg, Paul Hornung, Jim Taylor, Willie Davis, Willie Wood, Herb Adderley, Dave Robinson, James Lofton, Jan Stenerud, Brett Favre, Ron Wolf (executive).

7. San Francisco 49ers, 11: Y.A. Tittle, Hugh McElhenny, Dave Wilcox, Jimmy Johnson, Joe Montana, Fred Dean, Ronnie Lott, Jerry Rice, Steve Young, Charles Haley, Eddie DeBartolo (owner).

8. Kansas City Chiefs, 10: Bobby Bell, Len Dawson, Willie Lanier, Emmitt Thomas, Curley Culp, Jan Stenerud, Marcus Allen, Willie Roaf, Will Shields, Mary Levy (coach).

9. Buffalo Bills, 10: Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson, Joe DeLamiellure, James Lofton, Jim Kelly, Bruce Smith, Thurman Thomas, Andre Reed, Marv Levy (coach), Bill Polian (executive).

10. Miami Dolphins, 9: Larry Csonka, Nick Buoniconti, Bob Griese, Jim Langer, Larry Little, Paul Warfield, Dan Marino, Dwight Stephenson and Don Shula (coach).

Houston Oilers, 9: Curley Culp, Elvin Bethea, Earl Campbell, Dave Casper, Ken Houston, Charlie Joiner, Warren Moon, Mike Munchak, Bruce Matthews.

11. Chicago Bears, 8: Doug Atkins, Mike Ditka, Dick Butkus, Gale Sayers, Alan Page, Richard Dent, Dan Hampton, Mike Singletary.

12. New England Patriots, 7: Nick Buoniconti, John Hannah, Mike Haynes, Andre Tippett, Curtis Martin, Bill Parcells (coach) and Don Criqui (broadcaster).

13. New York Giants, 7: Sam Huff, Y.A. Tittle, Fran Tarkenton, Harry Carson, Lawrence Taylor, Michael Strahan, Bill Parcells (coach).

14. San Diego Chargers, 6: Ron Mix, Lance Alworth, Fred Dean, Dan Fouts, Charlie Joiner, Ron Kellen Winslow.

15. New York Jets, 6: Don Maynard, Joe Namath, John Riggins, Curtis Martin, Bill Parcells (coach-executive), Ron Wolf (executive).

16. Los Angeles Rams, 6: Tom Mack, Jackie Slater, Jack Youngblood, Eric Dickerson, Kevin Greene, Dick Enberg (broadcaster).

17. Cleveland Browns, 6: Jim Brown, Bobby Mitchell, Leroy Kelly, Paul Warfield, Joe DeLamiellure and Ozzie Newsome.

18. Denver Broncos, 5: Willie Brown, Floyd Little, John Elway, Shannon Sharpe, Gary Zimmerman.

19. Indianapolis Colts, 5: Eric Dickerson, Marshall Faulk, Marvin Harrison, Tony Dungy (coach), Bill Polian (executive).

Baltimore Colts, 5: Raymond Berry, Gino Marchetti, Lenny Moore, Ted Hendricks, Don Shula (coach).

20. Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 4: Warren Sapp, Derrick Brooks, Tony Dungy (coach), Ron Wolf (executive). 

21. Detroit Lions, 4: Joe Schmidt, Lem Barney, Dick LeBeau, Barry Sanders.

St. Louis Cardinals, 4: Larry Wilson, Dan Dierdorf, Jackie Smith, Roger Wehrli.

22. Seattle Seahawks, 3: Steve Largent, Cortez Kennedy, Walter Jones.

23. Cincinnati Bengals, 3: Charlie Joiner, Anthony Munoz.

24. Philadelphia Eagles, 3: Sonny Jurgensen, Tommy McDonald, Bob Brown.

St. Louis Rams, 3: Orlando Pace, Marshall Faulk, Aeneas Williams. 

25. Baltimore Ravens, 3: Rod Woodson, Jonathan Ogden, Ozzie Newsome (executive).

26. New Orleans Saints, 2: Rickey Jackson, Willie Roaf, Jim Finks.

27. Atlanta Falcons, 2: Deion Sanders, Claude Humphrey.

28. Tennessee Titans, 1: Bruce Matthews.

29. Carolina Panthers, 1: Bill Polian (executive). 

30. Arizona Cardinals, 1: Aeneas Williams. Emmitt Smith wasn’t with them long enough. Kurt Warner was with them for 5 seasons, so he would qualify as a Cardinal if he is elected, and he was a finalist this year.

Chicago Cardinals, 1: Charley Trippi.

31. Houston Texans, none. 

32. Jacksonville Jaguars, none. 

No comments: