Tuesday, July 15, 2014

Each MLB Team's Most Frequent All-Star

Note: This list takes into account all times a player was named to an All-Star team, whether he got into the All-Star Game or not; but not the doubled-up ASGs of 1958 to 1962. In other words, Ty Cobb will not be the leader for the Detroit Tigers, even though he might be had there already been an All-Star Game at the dawn of the 20th Century.

Arizona Diamondbacks: Randy Johnson and Luis Gonzalez, each with 5.

Atlanta Braves: Hank Aaron, 20. If you count only their Atlanta years, Hank has 8, and shares the lead with Tom Glavine, John Smoltz and Chipper Jones.

Baltimore Orioles: Cal Ripken, 19 -- ahead of Brooks Robinson, 14. Frank Robinson made 12 All-Star teams, 6 with the Reds, 5 with the Orioles and 1 with the Angels.

Boston Red Sox: Carl Yastrzemski, 19 -- ahead of Ted Williams, 16.

California/Anaheim/Los Angeles Angels: Rod Carew, 6.

Chicago Cubs: Ernie Banks, 11 -- ahead of Ryne Sandberg, 10.

Chicago White Sox: Nellie Fox, 11.

Cincinnati Reds: Johnny Bench, 14 -- ahead of Pete Rose, 13.

Cleveland Indians: Bob Feller, 7.

Colorado Rockies: Todd Helton, 5.

Detroit Tigers: Al Kaline, 14.

Houston Astros: Craig Biggio, 7.

Kansas City Royals: George Brett, 13.

Los Angeles Dodgers: Don Drysdale and Steve Garvey, 8. If you're wondering about Sandy Koufax, due to the fact that his lack of control cost him All-Star appearances in the first third of his career, and his elbow problem cost him the last third of his career entirely, you shouldn't be surprised that he had "only" 6. If you count the Brooklyn years, the franchise's all-time leader is Pee Wee Reese, 10. Jackie Robinson? 6.

Miami Marlins: Miguel Cabrera, 4.

Milwaukee Brewers: Cecil Cooper, Paul Molitor and Ryan Braun, each with 5. Robin Yount? Only 3 in his 21 seasons!

Minnesota Twins: Rod Carew, 12 -- ahead of Harmon Killebrew and Kirby Puckett with 10 each. If you count the franchise's history as the Washington Senators, Killebrew gets one more, but his 11 don't surpass Carew's 12. Among Senators only, Mickey Vernon had the most, 5.

New York Mets: Tom Seaver, 9 -- ahead of Darryl Strawberry, Mike Piazza and David Wright, all with 7.

New York Yankees: Mickey Mantle, 16 -- ahead of Yogi Berra with 15, Derek Jeter with 14, Joe DiMaggio with 13 and Mariano Rivera with 12. Reggie Jackson made 6 All-Star Teams with the A's, 5 with the Yankees, and 3 with the Angels, for a total of 14. Dave Winfield made 4 with the Padres and 8 with the Yankees, for a total of 12. The great Don Mattingly? "Only" 6. Because the Game began in 1933, this limited Babe Ruth to 2 and Lou Gehrig to 6.

Oakland Athletics: Mark McGwire, 9. He's still the leader if you count the team's Philadelphia and Kansas City years, although the 1933 cutoff hurts such legends as Lefty Grove, Jimmie Foxx, Al Simmons, Mickey Cochrane and Eddie Collins.

Philadelphia Phillies: Mike Schmidt, 12.

Pittsburgh Pirates: Roberto Clemente, 12.

St. Louis Cardinals: Stan Musial, 20 -- ahead of Ozzie Smith, 14.

San Diego Padres: Tony Gwynn, 16.

San Francisco Giants: Willie Mays, 14. If you count the team's New York years, Willie has 18. Barry Bonds? He made it to 12 ASGs with the Giants, so even if you cut the Giants off at their 1958 San Francisco debut, he's not ahead of Mays.

Seattle Mariners: Ken Griffey Jr. and Ichiro Suzuki share the lead, with 10.

Tampa Bay Rays: David Price has now matched Carl Crawford as the club's all-time leader, with 4.

Texas Rangers: Ivan Rodriguez, 10.

Toronto Blue Jays: Dave Stieb, 7 -- ahead of Roy Halladay, 6.

Washington Nationals: Bryce Harper, Jordan Zimmerman and Tyler Clippard share the club lead, with 2. If you count the franchise's years as the Montreal Expos, Gary Carter and Tim Raines share the lead, with 7. Andre Dawson? Surprisingly, only 3 (as an Expo).

No comments: