Monday, October 28, 2013

Last Time Teams Won a Playoff Round

Last won either a Playoff game (NFL), a Wild-Card Play-in Game (MLB), or a Playoff series (MLB, NBA or NFL) in calendar year 2013: Boston Red Sox, St. Louis Cardinals, Detroit Tigers, Los Angeles Dodgers, Tampa Bay Rays, Pittsburgh Pirates; Miami Heat, San Antonio Spurs, Indiana Pacers, Memphis Grizzlies, Chicago Bulls, New York Knicks, Golden State Warriors, Oklahoma City Thunder; Chicago Blackhawks, Boston Bruins, Pittsburgh Penguins, Los Angeles Kings, New York Rangers, Detroit Red Wings, San Jose Sharks, Ottawa Senators; Baltimore Ravens, San Francisco 49ers, New England Patriots, Atlanta Falcons, Green Bay Packers, Houston Texans, Seattle Seahawks.

2012: San Francisco Giants, New York Yankees, Baltimore Orioles; Boston Celtics, Philadelphia 76ers, Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers; New Jersey Devils, Phoenix Coyotes (now “Arizona Coyotes”), Washington Capitals, Philadelphia Flyers, St. Louis Blues, Nashville Predators; New York Giants, Denver Broncos, New Orleans Saints.

2011: Texas Rangers, Milwaukee Brewers; Dallas Mavericks, Atlanta Hawks; Vancouver Canucks, Tampa Bay Lightning, Pittsburgh Steelers, Chicago Bears, New York Jets.

2010: Philadelphia Phillies; Orlando Magic, Phoenix Suns, Cleveland Cavaliers, Utah Jazz; Montreal Canadiens; Indianapolis Colts, Minnesota Vikings, Arizona Cardinals, Dallas Cowboys.

2009: Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim; Denver Nuggets, Houston Rockets; Carolina Hurricanes; Philadelphia Eagles, San Diego Chargers.

2008: New Orleans Hornets (now Pelicans); Dallas Stars, Colorado Avalanche; Jacksonville Jaguars.

2007: Colorado Rockies, Cleveland Indians, Arizona Diamondbacks; New Jersey Nets (now Brooklyn Nets); Anaheim Ducks, Buffalo Sabres.

2006: New York Mets, Oakland Athletics; Edmonton Oilers; Washington Redskins.

2005: Chicago White Sox, Houston Astros; Washington Wizards; St. Louis Rams.

2004: Minnesota Timberwolves, Sacramento Kings; Calgary Flames; Carolina Panthers, Tennessee Titans.

2003: Florida Marlins (now Miami Marlins), Chicago Cubs; Minnesota Wild; Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Oakland Raiders.

2002: Minnesota Twins; Toronto Maple Leafs.

2001: Seattle Mariners, Atlanta Braves; Milwaukee Bucks, Toronto Raptors; Miami Dolphins.

2000: Portland Trail Blazers.

1998: San Diego Padres.

1996: Florida Panthers; Buffalo Bills.

1995: Cincinnati Reds; Cleveland Browns.

1994: Kansas City Chiefs.

1993: Toronto Blue Jays; New York Islanders.  The Islanders have easily the longest drought in the New York Tri-State Area.

1991: Detroit Lions.

1990: Cincinnati Bengals.

1987: Winnipeg Jets.  This franchise has since won a Playoff series as the Phoenix Coyotes.  The new Jets, formerly the Atlanta Thrashers, have never won a Playoff series.

1985: Kansas City Royals.  They got close this time, and haven’t officially been eliminated yet, but they’re 3 games out of the 2nd AL Wild Card slot with 6 games to go.  They haven’t made the Playoffs since the Reagan years, since portable phones were the size of a tape dispenser, since a desktop computer took up the entire top of your desk, since people were actually devoid enough of taste to listen to Duran Duran.

1981: Montreal Expos, now the Washington Nationals.

Never: Charlotte Hornets (formerly Bobcats); Columbus Blue Jackets.

No comments: