Monday, October 28, 2013

Last Time Teams Reached the Finals of Their Sport

Last won the Pennant (MLB) or the Conference Title (NFL, NBA or NHL) in calendar year 2013: Boston Red Sox, St. Louis Cardinals, Miami Heat, San Antonio Spurs, Chicago Blackhawks, Boston Bruins, Baltimore Ravens, San Francisco 49ers.

2012: San Francisco Giants, Detroit Tigers, Oklahoma City Thunder, Los Angeles Kings, New Jersey Devils, New York Giants, New England Patriots.

2011: Texas Rangers, Boston Bruins, Vancouver Canucks, Dallas Mavericks, Green Bay Packers, Pittsburgh Steelers.

2010: Los Angeles Lakers, Boston Celtics, Philadelphia Flyers, New Orleans Saints, Indianapolis Colts.

2009: New York Yankees, Philadelphia Phillies, NBA, Pittsburgh Penguins, Detroit Red Wings, Arizona Cardinals.

2008: Tampa Bay Rays, Orlando Magic.

2007: Cleveland Cavaliers, Colorado Rockies, Anaheim Ducks, Ottawa Senators, Chicago Bears.

2006: Carolina Hurricanes, Edmonton Oilers, Seattle Seahawks.

2005: Chicago White Sox, Houston Astros, Philadelphia Eagles.

2004: Tampa Bay Lightning, Calgary Flames, Carolina Panthers.

2003: Florida Marlins (now Miami Marlins), New Jersey Nets (now Brooklyn Nets), Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Oakland Raiders.

2002: Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim.

2001: Arizona Diamondbacks, Philadelphia 76ers, Colorado Avalanche.

2000: New York Mets, Indiana Pacers, St. Louis Rams, Tennessee Titans.

1999: Atlanta Braves, New York Knicks, Dallas Stars, Buffalo Sabres, Denver Broncos, Atlanta Falcons.

1998: San Diego Padres, Chicago Bulls, Utah Jazz, Washington Capitals.

1997: Cleveland Indians.

1996: Florida Panthers, Dallas Cowboys.

1995: Houston Rockets, San Diego Chargers.

1994: New York Rangers, Buffalo Bills.

1993: Toronto Blue Jays, Phoenix Suns, Montreal Canadiens.

1992: Portland Trail Blazers, Washington Redskins.

1991: Minnesota Twins.

1990: Cincinnati Reds, Oakland Athletics.

1989: Cincinnati Bengals.

1988: Los Angeles Dodgers.

1985: Kansas City Royals.

1984: New York Islanders, Miami Dolphins.

1983: Baltimore Orioles.

1982: Milwaukee Brewers.

1979: Pittsburgh Pirates, Washington Wizards (then Washington Bullets), Winnipeg Jets (as WHA Champions, unable to face NHL Champions).  Neither the new Jets (formerly the Atlanta Thrashers) nor the old Jets (now the Phoenix Coyotes) has ever reached the Stanley Cup Finals.

1977: Minnesota Vikings.

1975: Golden State Warriors.

1974: Milwaukee Bucks.

1970: St. Louis Blues, Kansas City Chiefs.

1969: New York Jets.  This is easily the longest drought for a New York Tri-State Area team.

1967: Toronto Maple Leafs.

1964: Cleveland Browns.

1961: Atlanta Hawks (then St. Louis Hawks).

1957: Detroit Lions.

1951: Sacramento Kings (then Rochester Royals).

1945: Chicago Cubs.

Never: Seattle Mariners, Montreal Expos/Washington Nationals; Charlotte Hornets/Bobcats, Vancouver/Memphis Grizzlies, Toronto Raptors, Minnesota Timberwolves, New Orleans Hornets/Pelicans, Denver Nuggets, San Diego/Los Angeles Clippers; Columbus Blue Jackets, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, San Jose Sharks; Houston Texans, Jacksonville Jaguars.

No comments: