Sunday, February 2, 2014

Living Members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame As Of Super Bowl XLVIII

As a companion piece to the post of all members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, including the 7 elected yesterday, here is a list of the living members of the Hall, located in Canton, Ohio, supposedly on the site of the Hupmobile showroom where the founding team owners met to start the league on September 17, 1920.

Inductees are listed with a team if they played, or coached, or were an executive, with them for at least 4 seasons.

I have divided moved teams accordingly (i.e., Johnny Unitas never took a snap for the Indianapolis Colts). “Sure future Hall-of-Famers” are not included, because, as we have seen in baseball, there is no such thing anymore. Coaching/executive tenure is only counted if they were elected as such.

Ties in the rankings are broken by more players (as opposed to other categories), and then by time in the league (a team with 3 players in 50 years is ahead of one with 3 players in 80 years).

1. Dallas Cowboys, 13: Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Rayfield Wright, Mike Ditka, Roger Staubach, Randy White, Tony Dorsett, Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, Michael Irvin, Deion Sanders, Larry Allen and Bill Parcells (coach). For all their complains about how their team doesn't have enough HOFers, Cowboy fans can now know that no team has more living HOFers.

2. Washington Redskins, 13: Chris Hanburger, Bobby Mitchell, Sonny Jurgensen, Sam Huff, Charley Taylor, Paul Krause, Ken Houston, John Riggins, Russ Grimm, Art Monk, Darrell Green, Bruce Smith and Joe Gibbs (coach).

3. Oakland Raiders, 12: Jim Otto, Willie Brown, Fred Biletnikoff, Dave Casper, Ted Hendricks, Art Shell, Mike Haynes, Marcus Allen, Howie Long, Jerry Rice, the newly-elected Ray Guy, and John Madden (coach).

4. Pittsburgh Steelers, 12: Joe Greene, Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris, Jack Lambert, Jack Ham, Lynn Swann, John Stallworth, Mel Blount, Rod Woodson, Dermontti Dawson, Dan Rooney (owner) and Chuck Noll (coach). Jack Butler died within the last year.

5. Minnesota Vikings, 11: Carl Eller, Paul Krause, Randall McDaniel, Alan Page, Fran Tarkenton, Ron Yary, Gary Zimmerman, Chris Doleman, John Randle, Cris Carter and Bud Grant (coach).

6. Buffalo Bills, 11: Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson, Joe DeLamiellure, James Lofton, Jim Kelly, Bruce Smith, Thurman Thomas, the newly-elected Andre Reed, Marv Levy (coach), Ralph Wilson (owner) and Van Miller (broadcaster).

7. San Francisco 49ers, 10: Hugh McElhenny, Bob St. Clair, Y.A. Tittle, Dave Wilcox, Jimmy Johnson, Joe Montana, Fred Dean, Ronnie Lott, Jerry Rice and Steve Young.  The Jimmy Johnson listed above was a black cornerback in the 1960s and '70s, and should not be confused with the white coach for the Cowboys -- although this Jimmy Johnson, unlike the coach, was actually born in Dallas.

8. Green Bay Packers, 10: Herb Adderley, Willie Davis, Forrest Gregg, Paul Hornung, Bart Starr, Jim Taylor, Dave Robinson, Willie Wood, Jan Stenerud and James Lofton.

9. Miami Dolphins, 9: Nick Buoniconti, Larry Csonka, Bob Griese, Jim Langer, Larry Little, Paul Warfield, Dan Marino, Dwight Stephenson and Don Shula (coach).

10. Kansas City Chiefs, 9: Bobby Bell, Len Dawson, Willie Lanier, Emmitt Thomas, Curley Culp, Jan Stenerud, Marcus Allen, Willie Roaf and Mary Levy (coach). Dawson has also been elected as a broadcaster.

11. New York Giants, 8: Frank Gifford, Sam Huff, Y.A. Tittle, Fran Tarkenton, Harry Carson, Lawrence Taylor, the newly-elected Michael Strahan, and Bill Parcells (coach).

12. New England Patriots, 7: Nick Buoniconti, John Hannah, Mike Haynes, Andre Tippett, Curtis Martin, Bill Parcells (coach) and Don Criqui (broadcaster).

13. Cleveland Browns, 7: Jim Brown, Bobby Mitchell, Leroy Kelly, Mike McCormack, Paul Warfield, Joe DeLamiellure and Ozzie Newsome.

14. Chicago Bears, 7: Doug Atkins, Mike Ditka (player & coach), Dick Butkus, Gale Sayers, Richard Dent, Dan Hampton and Mike Singletary.

15. San Diego Chargers, 6: Lance Alworth, Fred Dean, Dan Fouts, Charlie Joiner, Ron Mix, Kellen Winslow.

16. Detroit Lions, 6: Yale Lary, Joe Schmidt, Lem Barney, Dick LeBeau, Charlie Sanders and Barry Sanders (no relation to each other).

17. Denver Broncos, 5: Willie Brown, Floyd Little, John Elway, Shannon Sharpe and Gary Zimmerman.

18. New York Jets, 5: Don Maynard, Joe Namath, John Riggins, Curtis Martin and Bill Parcells (coach).

19. Philadelphia Eagles, 4: Chuck Bednarik, Sonny Jurgensen, Tommy McDonald and Bob Brown.

20. Baltimore Ravens, 3: Rod Woodson, Jonathan Ogden and Ozzie Newsome (executive).

21. Seattle Seahawks, 3: Steve Largent, Cortez Kennedy and the newly-elected Walter Jones.

22. St. Louis Rams, 2: Marshall Faulk and the newly-elected Aeneas Williams. From their Los Angeles days, count Deacon Jones, Tom Mack, Jackie Slater (who did play their first season in St. Louis), Jack Youngblood, Eric Dickerson and broadcaster Dick Enberg.

23. Indianapolis Colts, 2: Eric Dickerson and Marshall Faulk. From their Baltimore days, count Raymond Berry, Ted Hendricks, John Mackey, Gino Marchetti, Lenny Moore and Don Shula. But Art Donovan died within the last year.

24. Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2: Warren Sapp and the newly-elected Derrick Brooks.

25. New Orleans Saints, 2: Rickey Jackson and Willie Roaf.

26. Cincinnati Bengals, 2: Charlie Joiner and Anthony Munoz.

27. Atlanta Falcons, 2: The newly-elected Claude Humphrey, and Deion Sanders.

28. Tennessee Titans, 1: Bruce Matthews. From their days as the Houston Oilers, in addition to Bruce Matthews, count Curley Culp, Elvin Bethea, Earl Campbell, Dave Casper, Ken Houston, Charlie Joiner, Warren Moon and Mike Munchak.

29. Arizona Cardinals, 1: The newly-elected Aeneas Williams. From their Chicago days, count Charley Trippi. From their St. Louis days, count Larry Wilson, Dan Dierdorf, Jackie Smith and Roger Wehrli.

30. Houston Texans, none.

31. Carolina Panthers, none.

32. Jacksonville Jaguars, none.

No comments: