Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Living Members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame as of May 12, 2010

This is a companion piece to the one I did on living members of the Baseball Hall of Fame last week. There are 156 living members, with the recent death of Merlin Olsen.

Teams, and then their inductees, are listed by alphabetical order. Inductees are listed with a team if they played, or coached, or were an executive, with them for at least 4 seasons. I have divided moved teams accordingly (i.e., Johnny Unitas never took a snap for the Indianapolis Colts). “Sure future Hall-of-Famers” are not included. Coaching/executive tenure not counted unless they were elected as such:

Arizona Cardinals, none: Emmitt Smith wasn’t with them long enough. From their Chicago days, count Ollie Matson and Charley Trippi. From their St. Louis days, count Dan Dierdorf, Jackie Smith, Roger Wehrli, Larry Wilson.

Atlanta Falcons, none: Eric Dickerson and Tommy McDonald each played one season for them, but that’s as close as they come.

Baltimore Ravens, 1: Rod Woodson.

Buffalo Bills, 9: Joe DeLamiellure, Jim Kelly, Marv Levy, James Lofton, Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson (had to list him), Bruce Smith, Thurman Thomas, Ralph Wilson.

Carolina Panthers, none: Mike McCormack was an executive with them, but that’s as close as they come. Reggie White, who played for them in 2000 and died in 2004, is their only former player inducted.

Chicago Bears, 8: Doug Atkins, George Blanda, Dick Butkus, Mike Ditka, Dan Hampton, Stan Jones, Gale Sayers, Mike Singletary.

Cincinnati Bengals, 2: Charlie Joiner, Anthony Munoz.

Cleveland Browns, 7: Jim Brown, Joe DeLamiellure, Leroy Kelly, Mike McCormack, Bobby Mitchell, Ozzie Newsome, Paul Warfield.

Dallas Cowboys, 10: Troy Aikman, Mike Ditka, Tony Dorsett, Michael Irvin, Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Emmitt Smith, Roger Staubach, Randy White, Rayfield Wright.

Denver Broncos, 4: Willie Brown, John Elway, Floyd Little, Gary Zimmerman.

Detroit Lions, 6: Lem Barney, Yale Lary, Dick LeBeau, Barry Sanders, Charlie Sanders (no relation), Joe Schmidt.

Green Bay Packers, 9: Herb Adderley, Willie Davis, Forrest Gregg, Paul Hornung, James Lofton, Bart Starr, Jan Stenerud, Jim Taylor, Willie Wood.

Houston Texans, none. In fact, no Hall-of-Famers yet. Not surprising, as they are the newest franchise.

Indianapolis Colts, 1: Eric Dickerson. From their Baltimore days, count Raymond Berry, Art Donovan, Ted Hendricks, John Mackey, Gino Marchetti, Lenny Moore, Don Shula.

Jacksonville Jaguars, none. In fact, no Hall-of-Famers yet. Not surprising, as they are one of the 4 newest franchises -- 3 if you count the Browns as an established team (and you should, even if they have looked like an expansion team).

Kansas City Chiefs, 7: Marcus Allen, Bobby Bell, Len Dawson, Willie Lanier, Marv Levy, Jan Stenerud, Emmitt Thomas.

Miami Dolphins, 9: Nick Buonoconti, Larry Csonka, Bob Griese, Jim Langer, Larry Little, Dan Marino, Don Shula, Dwight Stephenson, Paul Warfield.

Minnesota Vikings, 9: Carl Eller, Bud Grant, Paul Krause, Randall McDaniel, Alan Page, John Randle, Fran Tarkenton, Ron Yary, Gary Zimmerman.

New England Patriots, 4: Nick Buonoconti, John Hannah, Mike Haynes, Andre Tippett. This counts players from their AFL days, when they were officially the Boston Patriots.

New Orleans Saints, 1: Rickey Jackson, newly elected, just one day before the Saints finally won a Super Bowl.

New York Giants: Harry Carson, Frank Gifford, Sam Huff, Andy Robustelli, Fran Tarkenton, Lawrence Taylor, Y.A. Tittle.

New York Jets, 3: Don Maynard, Joe Namath, John Riggins.

Oakland Raiders, 13: Marcus Allen, Fred Biletnikoff, George Blanda, Willie Brown, Dave Casper, Al Davis, Mike Haynes, Ted Hendricks, Howie Long, John Madden, Jim Otto, Jerry Rice, Art Shell. Note that I’m making an exception to my one-city-only rule for the Raiders, treating them as a continuous Oakland franchise, since they did return, even though their Los Angeles edition became a cultural icon (and not for good reasons).

Philadelphia Eagles, 6: Chuck Bednarik, Bob Brown, Sonny Jurgensen, Tommy McDonald, Pete Pihos, Steve Van Buren.

Pittsburgh Steelers, 12: Mel Blount, Terry Bradshaw, Joe Greene, Jack Ham, Franco Harris, John Henry Johnson, Jack Lambert, Chuck Noll, Dan Rooney, John Stallworth, Lynn Swann, Rod Woodson.

St. Louis Rams, none: From their Los Angeles days, count Eric Dickerson, Deacon Jones, Tom Mack, Ollie Matson, Andy Robustelli, Jackie Slater (who did play their first season in St. Louis), Jack Youngblood.

San Diego Chargers, 6: Lance Alworth, Fred Dean, Dan Fouts, Charlie Joiner, Ron Mix, Kellen Winslow.

San Francisco 49ers: Fred Dean, Jimmy Johnson (the cornerback, not the coach), Ronnie Lott, Hugh McElhenny, Joe Montana, Joe Perry, Jerry Rice, Bob St. Clair, Y.A. Tittle, Dave Wilcox, Steve Young.

Seattle Seahawks, 1: Steve Largent.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 1: Lee Roy Selmon.

Tennessee Titans, 1: Bruce Matthews (3 years as a “Tennessee Titan,” but counting 2 as a “Tennessee Oiler,” he qualifies for the Titans). From their days as the Houston Oilers, count Elvin Bethea, George Blanda, Earl Campbell, Dave Casper, Ken Houston, Charlie Joiner, Matthews, Warren Moon, Mike Munchak,

Washington Redskins, 12: Joe Gibbs, Darrell Green, Russ Grimm, Ken Houston, Sam Huff, Sonny Jurgensen, Paul Krause, Bobby Mitchell, Art Monk, John Riggins, Bruce Smith, Charley Taylor.

From the defunct NFL version of the Brooklyn Dodgers (played 1930 to 1948), 1: Clarence “Ace” Parker. At 97, he is the oldest living Pro Football Hall-of-Famer. He also played Major League Baseball, and is their 3rd-oldest living player.

No comments: