Thursday, May 6, 2010

Living Members of the Baseball Hall of Fame as of May 6, 2010

Just out of curiosity, following the deaths of Ernie Harwell and Robin Roberts, these are the living Hall-of-Famers that Major League Baseball teams can claim as their own, including players, managers, executives and (with the inclusion of recipients of the Ford Frick Award, which is not "officially" membership in the Hall but is considered by everyone else to be such) broadcasters.

Teams are arranged in alphabetical order, and some inductees can be claimed by more than one team. I'm not counting the not-yet-eligible, recently-retired or still-active, "sure Hall-of-Famers," because, as has already been proven by Pete Rose and Mark McGwire, there is no such thing as a sure Hall-of-Famer anymore. Not that I expect Derek Jeter or Mariano Rivera to mess up their chances, but then, I never expected Roger Clemens to do so, either, and now he's a question mark.

There are 65 living members of the Baseball Hall of Fame -- 79 if you count broadcasters.

Anaheim Angels, 3: Rod Carew, Reggie Jackson, Nolan Ryan.

Arizona Diamondbacks, none. As I said, we can't count Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling.

Atlanta Braves, 3: Hank Aaron, Phil Niekro and Frick Award winner Milo Hamilton.

Baltimore Orioles, 8: Frank Robinson, Brooks Robinson, Jim Palmer, Luis Aparicio (he was the starting shortstop on their '66 World Champs), Earl Weaver, Eddie Murray, Cal Ripken, and Frick Award winner Jon Miller. That's an amazing total considering the franchise is just 56 years old (in its Baltimore form), and I suppose they are lucky that all of these men are still alive, when some teams have HOFers younger than the Robinsons who have died.

Boston Red Sox, 7: Bobby Doerr, Carl Yastrzemski, Carlton Fisk, Dennis Eckersley (a pretty good starter before he became a great reliever), Wade Boggs, Jim Rice, Dick Williams (managed their '67 Pennant).

Chicago Cubs, 5: Ernie Banks, Billy Williams, Ferguson Jenkins, Ryne Sandberg, Andre Dawson. Why not Ron Santo?

Chicago White Sox, 2: Luis Aparicio, Carlton Fisk.

Cincinnati Reds, 6: Frank Robinson, Johnny Bench, Joe Morgan, Sparky Anderson, Tony Perez and Frick Award winner Marty Brennaman.

Cleveland Indians, 1: Bob Feller. Manny Ramirez, Jim Thome and Roberto Alomar remain to be seen.

Colorado Rockies, none.

Detroit Tigers, 3: Al Kaline, Jim Bunning, Sparky Anderson.

Florida Marlins, none. Andre Dawson played one season for them at the end of his career, but he's not thought of as a Marlin. I suppose Frick Award winner Felo Ramirez can be counted, although his best work was done for national Spanish-language networks for decades before the Marlins were expanded into existence.

Houston Astros, 4: Joe Morgan, Nolan Ryan and Frick Award winners Gene Elston (who also broadcast for the preceding minor-league team the Houston Buffs) and Milo Hamilton. Despite all he achieved in Houston, Ryan is still thought of more as an Angel and a Ranger, and Morgan of course as a Red. It will take until the (almost certain) elections of Jeff Bagwell and Craig Biggio before the Astros have HOFers that are truly their own.

Kansas City Royals, 3: George Brett, Whitey Herzog and Frick Award winner Denny Matthews.

Los Angeles Dodgers, 6: Sandy Koufax, Duke Snider (he did stick around for a few years after the move), Tommy Lasorda, Don Sutton, Frick Award winners Vin Scully -- now the last of the old-time broadcasting legends -- and Jaime Jarrin.

Milwaukee Brewers, 4: Rollie Fingers, Robin Yount, Paul Molitor and Frick Award winner Bob Uecker (who is also in ill health -- get well, Uke).

Minnesota Twins, 2: Harmon Killebrew, Rod Carew.

New York Mets, 4: Tom Seaver, Gary Carter, and, if I can be verrrry generous here, Yogi Berra and Ralph Kiner (of course, elected to the Hall while a Met broadcaster but for his tenure as a Pirates slugger). Why not Gil Hodges?

New York Yankees, 7: Yogi Berra, Whitey Ford, Reggie Jackson, Dave Winfield, Wade Boggs, Goose Gossage, and Frick Award winner Jerry Coleman (who was a Yankee second baseman and then broadcaster before moving on to San Diego). Joe Garagiola and Tony Kubek have also won the Frick Award, but despite Kubek being a star Yankee player and Garagiola having been a Yankee broadcaster in the 1960s, both received the Frick mainly for their national work on NBC-TV. Lee MacPhail, now the oldest living member of the Hall, was the Yankees' farm system director and later their general manager, but he's best remembered as the President of the American League -- in which role he really hurt the Yankees in his last year of service, 1983. (see "Pine Tar Game")

Oakland Athletics, 6: Rollie Fingers, Reggie Jackson, Dennis Eckersley, Dick Williams, Rickey Henderson and Frick Award winner Lon Simmons. That's a lot of HOFers for a team that's only been around (in its current form) for 40 years and change, although only Henderson is listed here solely with this team, and Simmons is shared with the team across the Bay.

Philadelphia Phillies, 3: Steve Carlton, Mike Schmidt, Jim Bunning.

Pittsburgh Pirates, 2: Ralph Kiner and Bill Mazeroski.

St. Louis Cardinals, 7: Stan Musial, Bob Gibson, Lou Brock, Red Schoendienst, Orlando Cepeda (only 3 seasons but 2 of them Pennant winners and 1 an MVP), Ozzie Smith, Whitey Herzog.

San Diego Padres, 6: Rollie Fingers, Dave Winfield, Tony Gwynn, Goose Gossage, Dick Williams and Frick Award winner Jerry Coleman. "Oh, doctor," that's a lot for a franchise just over 40 years old, and I even thought of including Gaylord Perry. But only Gwynn played most (in his case, all) of his career with the Padres, and only Winfield among the others was there at anything close to his best.

San Francisco Giants, 7: Willie Mays, Juan Marichal, Willie McCovey, Gaylord Perry, Orlando Cepeda and Frick Award winners Lon Simmons and Jon Miller. Monte Irvin left the Giants before the move to San Francisco, having spent most of his career with them and with the Newark Eagles (he's the only living HOFer to have spent more than just the very beginning of his career in the Negro Leagues), so I can't count him with San Francisco. But considering they've only been around since 1958 and have in that time won only 3 Pennants and no World Series, this is an astounding total -- even more so, none of the HOFers who can be counted as San Francisco, rather than as New York, Giants have yet died.

Seattle Mariners, 1: Frick Award winner Dave Niehaus. No, you can't count Gaylord Perry. When Randy Johnson and Ken Griffey Jr. get in, you can count them. Presuming Ichiro Suzuki's Japanese start isn't held against him, you can count him, too.

Tampa Bay Rays, none. No, you can't count Wade Boggs, nor Fred McGriff if he makes it.

Texas Rangers, 2: Ferguson Jenkins and Nolan Ryan. Neither was mainly a Ranger, and the elections of Ivan Rodriguez and Juan Gonzalez, once considered sure, are now very much in doubt.

Toronto Blue Jays, none. No, you can't count Dave Winfield from the '92 World Champs, or Rickey Henderson or Paul Molitor from '93.

Washington Nationals, none. If Frank Robinson had managed them to contention, you could count him. From their former incarnation as the Montreal Expos, you can count Gary Carter and Andre Dawson. Harmon Killebrew is the only living Washington Senator in the Hall, and he was only there for 5 seasons before the team moved to Minnesota. And the Senators' original TV voice, Bob Wolff, is still alive, although no longer actively broadcasting for a sports team.

No comments: