Sunday, February 1, 2015

Living Members of the Pro Football Hall of Fame as of January 31, 2015

I was a bit surprised to find out that, even with the addition of Tim Brown (elected today, obviously after that banner was made), Da Raiduhs came out on top of this list.

Inductees are listed here with a team if they played, or coached, or were an executive, with them for at least 4 seasons. I bent this rule slightly for Wolf with Tampa Bay and Polian with Carolina, as they were, in each case, the 1st GM in franchise history, and were, despite only being with those teams for 3 years, partly responsible for each team reaching the NFC Championship Game as quickly as they did (the Panthers in Year 2, the Bucs in Year 4 despite losing every game in Year 1 and nearly also in Year 2).

I have divided moved teams accordingly (i.e., Johnny Unitas never took a snap for the Indianapolis Colts). “Sure future Hall-of-Famers” are not included, because, as we have seen in baseball, there is no such thing anymore. 

Tenure as a player, or a coach, or an executive is only counted if they were elected as such. In other words, Raymond Berry may have coached the Patriots into a Super Bowl, and Forrest Gregg did so with the Bengals, but they were elected as a Colts player and a Packers player, respectively, so those are the teams with which they're included.

Ties in the rankings are broken by more players, as opposed to other categories; and then by time in the league. So a team with 4 players is ahead of one with 3 players and 1 coach, and a team with 3 players in 50 years is ahead of one with 3 players in 80 years.

Figures are listed here as follows: Players in chronological order of their Hall of Fame service with the team (even if they had other functions with that team), then coaches, then executives, then broadcasters.

1. Oakland Raiders, 15: Jim Otto, Fred Biletnikoff, Willie Brown, Art Shell, Dave Casper, Ray Guy, Ted Hendricks, Mike Haynes, Howie Long, Marcus Allen, Jerry Rice, Warren Sapp, Tim Brown, John Madden (coach), Ron Wolf (scout).

2. Dallas Cowboys, 14: Bob Lilly, Mel Renfro, Rayfield Wright, Mike Ditka, Roger Staubach, Randy White, Tony Dorsett, Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith, Michael Irvin, Deion Sanders, Larry Allen, Charles Haley, Bill Parcells (coach).

3. Washington Redskins, 13: Bobby Mitchell, Sonny Jurgensen, Charley Taylor, Sam Huff, Paul Krause, Chris Hanburger, Ken Houston, John Riggins, Art Monk, Russ Grimm, Darrell Green, Bruce Smith, Joe Gibbs (coach).

4. Minnesota Vikings, 12: Fran Tarkenton, Carl Eller, Alan Page, Paul Krause, Ron Yary, Mick Tinglehoff, Chris Doleman, Gary Zimmerman, Randall McDaniel, Cris Carter, John Randle, Bud Grant (coach).

5. Pittsburgh Steelers, 12: Joe Greene, Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris, Jack Lambert, Jack Ham, Lynn Swann, John Stallworth, Mel Blount, Rod Woodson, Dermontti Dawson, Jerome Bettis, Dan Rooney (owner).

6. Kansas City Chiefs, 11: Bobby Bell, Len Dawson, Willie Lanier, Emmitt Thomas, Curley Culp, Jan Stenerud, Marcus Allen, Willie Roaf, Will Shields, Mary Levy (coach), Lamar Hunt (founder-owner).

7. Buffalo Bills, 11: Billy Shaw, O.J. Simpson (had to list him), Joe DeLamiellure, James Lofton, Jim Kelly, Bruce Smith, Thurman Thomas, Andre Reed, Marv Levy (coach), Bill Polian (executive) and Van Miller (broadcaster).

8. San Francisco 49ers, 11: Bob St. Clair, Y.A. Tittle, Hugh McElhenny, Dave Wilcox, Jimmy Johnson, Joe Montana, Fred Dean, Ronnie Lott, Jerry Rice, Steve Young, Charles Haley.

9. Green Bay Packers, 11: Bart Starr, Forrest Gregg, Paul Hornung, Jim Taylor, Willie Davis, Willie Wood, Herb Adderley, Dave Robinson, James Lofton, Jan Stenerud, Ron Wolf (executive).

Houston Oilers, 9: Curley Culp, Elvin Bethea, Earl Campbell, Dave Casper, Ken Houston, Charlie Joiner, Warren Moon, Mike Munchak, Bruce Matthews.

10. Miami Dolphins, 9: Larry Csonka, Nick Buoniconti, Bob Griese, Jim Langer, Larry Little, Paul Warfield, Dan Marino, Dwight Stephenson and Don Shula (coach).

11. New York Giants, 8: Frank Gifford, Sam Huff, Y.A. Tittle, Fran Tarkenton, Harry Carson, Lawrence Taylor, Michael Strahan, Bill Parcells (coach).

12 Chicago Bears, 8: Doug Atkins, Mike Ditka (player & coach), Dick Butkus, Gale Sayers, Alan Page, Richard Dent, Dan Hampton, Mike Singletary.

13. New England Patriots, 7: Nick Buoniconti, John Hannah, Mike Haynes, Andre Tippett, Curtis Martin, Bill Parcells (coach) and Don Criqui (broadcaster).

14. San Diego Chargers, 6: Ron Mix, Lance Alworth, Fred Dean, Dan Fouts, Charlie Joiner, Ron Kellen Winslow.

15. New York Jets, 6: Don Maynard, Joe Namath, John Riggins, Curtis Martin, Bill Parcells (coach-executive), Ron Wolf (executive).

16. Cleveland Browns, 6: Jim Brown, Bobby Mitchell, Leroy Kelly, Paul Warfield, Joe DeLamiellure and Ozzie Newsome.

Baltimore Colts, 5: Raymond Berry, Gino Marchetti, Lenny Moore, Ted Hendricks, Don Shula (coach).

Los Angeles Rams, 5: Tom Mack, Jackie Slater, Jack Youngblood, Eric Dickerson, Dick Enberg (broadcaster).

17. Denver Broncos, 5: Willie Brown, Floyd Little, John Elway, Shannon Sharpe, Gary Zimmerman.

18. Detroit Lions, 5: Joe Schmidt (also coach), Lem Barney, Dick LeBeau, Charlie Sanders and Barry Sanders (no relation to each other).

St. Louis Cardinals, 4: Larry Wilson, Dan Dierdorf, Jackie Smith, Roger Wehrli.

19. Philadelphia Eagles, 4: Chuck Bednarik, Sonny Jurgensen, Tommy McDonald, Bob Brown.

20. Baltimore Ravens, 3: Rod Woodson, Jonathan Ogden, Ozzie Newsome (executive).

21. Indianapolis Colts, 3: Eric Dickerson, Marshall Faulk Bill Polian (executive).

22. Seattle Seahawks, 3: Steve Largent, Cortez Kennedy, Walter Jones.

23. Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 3: Warren Sapp, Derrick Brooks, Ron Wolf (executive). Lee Roy Selmon died in 2011.

24. St. Louis Rams, 2: Marshall Faulk, Aeneas Williams.

25. Cincinnati Bengals, 2: Charlie Joiner, Anthony Munoz.

26. New Orleans Saints, 2: Rickey Jackson, Willie Roaf.

27. Atlanta Falcons, 2: Deion Sanders, Claude Humphrey.

28. Tennessee Titans, 1: Bruce Matthews.

29. Carolina Panthers, 1: Bill Polian (executive).

30. Arizona Cardinals, 1: Aeneas Williams.

Chicago Cardinals, 1: Charley Trippi.

31. Houston Texans, none.

32. Jacksonville Jaguars, none.

No comments: