Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Living Members of the Baseball Hall of Fame, as of January 7, 2015

A player is counted with the team if he played at least 4 seasons with them.  Teams are ranked in order of most Hall-of-Famers (hereafter abbreviated as "HOFers").

If there is a tie, it will be broken by which team has more players, as opposed to individuals elected in other categories. If there is still a tie, then I go to which has more non-broadcasters. If it's still a tie, which has more players whose contributions were mostly with that club. If it's still a tie, which team has played fewer seasons will be ranked ahead -- since, for example, 5 HOFers is more impressive for a team that's been around since 1977 than it would be for one that's been around since 1961.

Teams that no longer exist in that form will be listed in italics and in the position where they would be ranked if they still did.

Players are listed in chronological order of when they arrived at the club, then managers, then broadcasters.

1. St. Louis Cardinals, 10: Red Schoendienst, Bob Gibson, Lou Brock, Orlando Cepeda, Steve Carlton, Bruce Sutter, Ozzie Smith, Whitey Herzog, Tony LaRussa, Joe Garagiola.

2. New York Yankees, 10: Yogi Berra, Whitey Ford, Reggie Jackson, Goose Gossage, Dave Winfield, Rickey Henderson, Wade Boggs, Joe Torre, Joe Garagiola, Tony Kubek. The Cards win the tiebreaker because, while both have 7 players, the Cards have 2 managers and 1 broadcaster, while the Yankees have 1 manager and 2 broadcasters.

3. Baltimore Orioles, 8: Brooks Robinson, Luis Aparicio, Frank Robinson, Jim Palmer, Eddie Murray, Cal Ripken, Roberto Alomar, Jon Miller.

4. Atlanta Braves, 8: Hank Aaron, Phil Niekro, Tom Glavine, Greg Maddux, John Smoltz, Bobby Cox, Joe Torre, Milo Hamilton.

5. Boston Red Sox, 7: Bobby Doerr, Carl Yastrzemski, Carlton Fisk, Jim Rice, Dennis Eckersley, Wade Boggs, Pedro Martinez.

6. Chicago Cubs, 7: Ernie Banks, Billy Williams, Ferguson Jenkins, Bruce Sutter, Ryne Sandberg, Andre Dawson, Greg Maddux.

7. Cincinnati Reds, 7: Frank Robinson, Johnny Bench, Tony Perez, Joe Morgan, Tom Seaver, Barry Larkin, Marty Brennaman.

8. San Francisco Giants, 7: Willie Mays, Orlando Cepeda, Willie McCovey, Juan Marichal, Gaylord Perry, Lon Simmons, Jon Miller.

9. Oakland Athletics, 6: Reggie Jackson, Rollie Fingers, Rickey Henderson, Dennis Eckersley, Tony LaRussa, Lon Simmons.

10. New York Mets, 6: Tom Seaver, Tom Glavine, Pedro Martinez, Yogi Berra, Joe Torre, Tim McCarver.

11. Chicago White Sox, 5: Luis Aparicio, Goose Gossage, Carlton Fisk, Frank Thomas, Tony LaRussa.

12. Houston Astros, 5: Joe Morgan, Nolan Ryan, Craig Biggio, Gene Elston, Milo Hamilton.

13. Los Angeles Dodgers, 5: Sandy Koufax, Don Sutton,  Tommy Lasorda, Vin Scully, Jamie Jarrin.

14. San Diego Padres, 4: Dave Winfield, Ozzie Smith, Rollie Fingers, Goose Gossage. They lost Tony Gwynn last year.

15. Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, 4: Nolan Ryan, Rod Carew, Reggie Jackson, Bert Blyleven.

16. Philadelphia Phillies, 4: Jim Bunning, Steve Carlton, Mike Schmidt, Pat Gillick.

17. Milwaukee Brewers, 4: Robin Yount, Paul Molitor, Rollie Fingers, Bob Uecker.

18. Texas Rangers, 3: Ferguson Jenkins, Gaylord Perry, Nolan Ryan.

Montreal Expos, 3: Andre Dawson, Pedro Martinez, Dave Van Horne.

19. Kansas City Royals, 3: George Brett, Whitey Herzog, Denny Matthews.

20. Toronto Blue Jays, 3: Roberto Alomar, Pat Gillick, Tony Kubek.

21. Minnesota Twins, 2: Rod Carew, Bert Blyleven.

22. Detroit Tigers, 2: Al Kaline, Jim Bunning.
Milwaukee Braves, 2: Hank Aaron, Red Schoendienst.

New York Giants, 2: Monte Irvin, Willie Mays. Once Duke Snider died, there are no more living Brooklyn Dodgers in the Hall of Fame.

23. Seattle Mariners, 2: Randy Johnson, Pat Gillick.

24. Miami Marlins, 2: Felo Ramirez and Dave Van Horne.

25. Pittsburgh Pirates, 2: Bill Mazeroski, Bert Blyleven. They lost Ralph Kiner last year.

26. Arizona Diamondbacks, 1: Randy Johnson.

Newark Eagles (Negro Leagues), 1: Monte Irvin.

27. Washington Nationals, 1: Frank Robinson.

Washington Senators, 1: Bob Wolff.

28. Cleveland Indians, 1: Gaylord Perry. 114 seasons, just 1 living Hall-of-Famer. Which tells you what kind of decisions the Tribe's front office was making from 1960 to 1990.

29. Tampa Bay Rays, none.

30. Colorado Rockies, none.

No comments: