Sunday, November 3, 2013

Last World Championships Won By Each Team (If Any)

Last won the World Series (MLB), NFL Championship/Super Bowl, NBA Championship or Stanley Cup in calendar year 2013: Boston Red Sox, Miami Heat, Chicago Blackhawks, Baltimore Ravens.

2012: San Francisco Giants, Los Angeles Kings, New York Giants.

2011: St. Louis Cardinals, Boston Bruins, Dallas Mavericks, Green Bay Packers.

2010: Los Angeles Lakers, New Orleans Saints.

2009: New York Yankees, Pittsburgh Penguins, Pittsburgh Steelers.

2008: Philadelphia Phillies, Boston Celtics, Detroit Red Wings.

2007: San Antonio Spurs, Anaheim Ducks, Indianapolis Colts.

2006: Carolina Hurricanes.

2005: Chicago White Sox, New England Patriots.

Began in 2004 and never won: Charlotte Bobcats/Hornets.

2004: Tampa Bay Lightning.

2003: Miami Marlins (as Florida Marlins), New Jersey Devils, Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

2002: Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim.
Began in 2002 and never won: Houston Texans.

2001: Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Avalanche.

2000: St. Louis Rams.
Began in 1999 and never won: Columbus Blue Jackets, Minnesota Wild.

1999: Dallas Stars, Denver Broncos.
Began in 1998 and never won: Atlanta Thrashers/"new" Winnipeg Jets, Tampa Bay Rays.

1998: Chicago Bulls.
Began in 1997 and never won: Nashville Predators.

1996: Dallas Cowboys.
Began in 1995 and never won: Vancouver/Memphis Grizzlies, Toronto Raptors, Carolina Panthers, Jacksonville Jaguars.

1995: Atlanta Braves, Houston Rockets, San Francisco 49ers.

1994: New York Rangers.
Began in 1993 and never won: Florida Panthers.

1993: Toronto Blue Jays, Montreal Canadiens.  Each is the last title by a Canadian team in their respective sport.
Began in 1993 and never won: Colorado Rockies.

Began in 1992 and never won: Ottawa Senators (current version).

1992: Washington Redskins.
1991: Minnesota Twins.
Began in 1991 and never won: San Jose Sharks.

1990: Cincinnati Reds, Edmonton Oilers.

Began in 1989 and never won: Orlando Magic, Minnesota Timberwolves.

1989: Oakland Athletics, Calgary Flames.

Began in 1988 and never won: Charlotte Hornets/New Orleans Hornets/New Orleans Pelicans.
1988: Los Angeles Dodgers.
1986: New York Mets, Chicago Bears.
1985: Kansas City Royals.

1984: Detroit Tigers, Oakland Raiders (as Los Angeles Raiders).  Super Bowl XVIII remains the last football title won by a Los Angeles pro team (unless you want to count the 2001 XFL title); the last time they won as the Oakland Raiders was in 1981.

1983: Baltimore Orioles, Philadelphia 76ers, New York Islanders.

1979: Pittsburgh Pirates, Oklahoma City Thunder (as Seattle SuperSonics).

1979 was the last time they went as far as they were allowed to go: Phoenix Coyotes (as "old" Winnipeg Jets), WHA Champions.  Although they won 3 WHA titles, more than any other team, they are the only one of the 4 WHA teams to enter the NHL in 1979 to not win a Stanley Cup, although both the Quebec Nordiques (1996 Colorado Avalanche) and Hartford Whalers (2006 Carolina Hurricanes) had to move before doing so; the Edmonton Oilers (1984) did not.

1978: Washington Wizards (as Washington Bullets).

1977: Portland Trail Blazers.

Began in 1977 and never won: Seattle Mariners.

Began in 1976 and never won: Seattle Seahawks.

1976 was the last time they went as far as they were allowed to go: Brooklyn Nets (as New York Nets), ABA Champions.

1975: Golden State Warriors, Philadelphia Flyers.

Began in 1974 and never won: New Orleans/Utah Jazz, Washington Capitals.

1974: Miami Dolphins.
1973: New York Knicks.

1973 was the last time they went as far as they were allowed to go: Indiana Pacers, ABA Champions.

1971: Milwaukee Bucks.

Began in 1970 and never won: Cleveland Cavaliers, Buffalo Braves/San Diego Clippers/Los Angeles Clippers, Vancouver Canucks, Buffalo Sabres.

1970: Kansas City Chiefs.

Began in 1969 and never won: San Diego Padres, Seattle Pilots/Milwaukee Brewers, Montreal Expos/Washington Nationals.

1969: New York Jets.  This is easily the longest drought for a New York Tri-State Area team.
Began in 1968 and never won: Phoenix Suns, Cincinnati Bengals.  Although the Bengals have won 2 AFC Championships, they are the only one of the 10 teams to have been in the 1960s AFL that was merged into the NFL in 1970 not to have won the title either in that league or in the NFL.

Began in 1967 and never won: Denver Nuggets, St. Louis Blues.  Not only do the Nugs have the longest drought of any current NBA team in its current city, they are also are the only one of the 4 ABA teams to enter the NBA in 1976 that hasn't won its league -- either the NBA or the ABA -- at least once, or even twice: The Nets won 2 in the ABA, the Pacers 3 in the ABA, and the Spurs 4 in the NBA.  Unless you count the defunct Oakland Seals/California Golden Seals/Cleveland Barons, the Blues are the last of the 1967 NHL expansion teams not to have won a Stanley Cup.

1967: Toronto Maple Leafs, longest drought of any current NHL team.

Began in 1966 and never won: Atlanta Falcons.

1965 was the last time they went as far as they were allowed to go: Buffalo Bills, AFL Champions.  This was also the last AFL Champion to not meet the NFL Champion in a Super Bowl.  The next year, the Bills got to the AFL Championship Game for the 3rd year in a row, but got clobbered by the Chiefs, who then lost Super Bowl I to the Packers.

1964: Cleveland Browns, the last time any Cleveland team has gone as far as they were allowed to go.  No, they did not meet the AFL Champion Buffalo Bills in Erie, Pennsylvania in Super Bowl -II.

1963 was the last time they went as far as they were allowed to go: San Diego Chargers, AFL Champions.

Began in 1962 and never won: Houston Astros.

1961 was the last time they went as far as they were allowed to go: Tennessee Titans (as Houston Oilers), AFL Champions.

Began in 1961 and never won: Minnesota Vikings, Washington Senators/Texas Rangers.

1960: Philadelphia Eagles.
1958: Atlanta Hawks (then St. Louis Hawks).

1957: Detroit Lions, longest drought of any current NFL team in its current city.

1951: Sacramento Kings (as Rochester Royals), longest drought of any current NBA team.
1948: Cleveland Indians.

1947: Arizona Cardinals (as Chicago Cardinals), longest drought of any current NFL team.

1927: Ottawa Senators (original version), Ottawa's last Stanley Cup.

1925: Victoria Cougars, British Columbia's last Stanley Cup, and the last one won by a team outside the NHL.

1924: Washington Senators (now Minnesota Twins), longest current drought of any current MLB city.

1915: Vancouver Millionaires, Vancouver's Stanley Cup.

1913: Quebec Bulldogs, Quebec City's last Stanley Cup.  The Nordiques won the WHA title in 1977, but never even reached the NHL Conference Finals until after they moved.

1908: Chicago Cubs, by far the longest drought of any current team in any major league in North American sports.

1902: Winnipeg Victorias, last Stanley Cup for Winnipeg, longest current drought of any NHL or major league city.

No comments: